Help

Images shown on the glossary pages usually are links to larger photos. There are two index pages through which the terms can be accessed, one in alphabetical order, and a thematic list grouped according to topical categories. As some terms are hard to categorize, only the alphabetic list is complete.

Authors

This photoglossary is a joint project by the USGS Volcanic Hazards Program and STROMBOLI ON-LINE. Many of the texts were first presented on the photoglossary by USGS. They were generally shortened slightly. Illustrations were chosen, if possible, from STROMBOLI ON-LINE's resources.

Priorities

When equally suitable photos were available, priorities regarding the volcanos used to illustrate the phenomena is usually as follows:

1.) Stromboli
2.) Etna
3.) other volcanos.

Suggestions

This glossary is an on-going project. More terms may be entered, in particular, if a good photo is available to illustrate the phenomen or object (and if we find the time to do it...). Your suggestions are welcome.

Hilfe

Die Bilder auf den Lexikon sind meist Links zu grösseren Versionen. Es gibt zwei Indexseiten, über welche Fachbegriffe abgerufen werden können, eine in alphabetischer Reihenfolge, und eine in thematischer Gliederung. Da einige Begriffe schwer zu kategorisieren sind, is lediglich die alphabetische Liste vollständig.

Die Autoren

Dieses Lexikon ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des USGS Volcanic Hazards Program und STROMBOLI ON-LINE. Ein Grossteil der Texte erschien zuerst auf dem USGS-photoglossary. Im allgemeinen wurden die englischen Fassungen etwas gekürzt. Illustrationen wurden, wenn immer möglich, von den Quellen STROMBOLI ON-LINEs ausgewählt.

Prioritäten

Wenn gleichwertiges Bildmaterial zur Verfügung stand, wurde den Vulkanen zur Illustration des Phänomens wie folgt Priorität gegeben:

1.) Stromboli
2.) Ätna
3.) andere Vulkane.

Vorschläge

Dieses Lexikon ist ein offenes Projekt. Weitere Begriffe können ergänzt werden, insbesondere wenn ein gutes Bild vorhanden ist, um das Phänomen zu erklären (und falls wir die Zeit dazu finden...). Ihre Vorschläge sind uns willkommen.