Erta Ale

Videoclips

The activity in Erta Ale's lava lake is an excellent model for Earth's plate tectonics. The dark crust can be seen as modelling Earth's lithosphere, the fluid lava below the asthenosphere. However, the lake has only one type of crust, so it usually only models interactions of oceanic with oceanic or continentl with continental crust. Compareable process in plate tectonics are marked like this text.

Videoclips
Time lapse of the whole lava lake at dusk (44 minutes real time). In the middle of the film the lake switches from one mode of «plate» motion to a completely different one (2.9 MB). Seafloor spreading, transform faults, subduction, hot spots
Videoclips
A «young» fountain producing great lava bubbles. At the end the camera zooms out to put the fountain into context with the large, otherwise undisturbed lake surface (3.4 MB). Hot spot
Videoclips
A well developed, «mature» fountain in full sunlight (2.9 MB). Hot spot
Videoclips
This lava fountain moves towards the camera, «eating» its way into stationary crust. Cracks open dark lava crust gets pulled into the fountain (2.4 MB). Subduction of a small plate, volcanism along subduction zone
Videoclips
Fountaining along pit wall; the overhanging shore deflects the fountains away from the wall. A piece of lake crust sinks towards the fountain. Video taken at night (1.5 MB). Subduction of oceanic under continental crust (pit wall)
Videoclips
First one crustal section gets thrusted over another one. As soon as a break occurs, crust sections sink into the lake due to their lower temperature and, therefore, higher density (1.2 MB). Slab pull at subduction zones
Videoclips
Nighttime wide angle of large and small fountain; zoom to larger one. As the fountain creats a hole, crust sinks into the lake getting pulled under faster and faster due to its higher density (3.0 MB). Hot spots. However, hot spots on Earth do not create crustal subduction.
Videoclips
Faulting and thrusting of crustal sections while being moved towards each other; on the top a small fountain is erupting (0.8 MB). Transform faults first on the bottom left, then also in the middle.
Videoclips
Two similar, but independent fountains; wide angle view to indicate the relative size of lava lake and fountains. The video is «underexposed» to emphasize the fountains (0.9 MB). Hot spots
Videoclips
Two lava fountains move towards each other and finally merge. The video is slightly «underexposed» to best show details within the fountains (1.7 MB). Hot spots
Videoclips
Undisturbed rifting of three section sof lake crust. Note unequal rates: The lower rift opens much faster than the one on the upper left (0.8 MB). Seafloor spreading, e.g. joints between Pacific, Nazca and Cocos plate
Videoclips
Emergence and sudden bursting of gas bubble. Similar bubbles often appeared in roughly the same spot and did not develop into a fountain (0.8 MB).
Videoclips
One section of lake crust (above) moves past another, stationary one (below). Between them some crust gets rolled into a «snail» (0.3 MB). Upper left: Transform fault (no analogy for the «snail»)
Videoclips
Folding at the front of a section of crust which is pushed against some other, stationary section (1.0 MB). Folding in collision zone between two continental plates (Himalayas, Alps)
Videoclips
Time lapse of the whole lava lake (38 mins. real time) during time of high activity: many fountains and crustal motion in the entire lake (2.5 MB). Seafloor spreading, transform faults, subduction, hot spots
Videoclips
Time lapse of the whole lava lake (57 mins. real time) during time of low activity: few fountains and crustal motion only in parts of the lake (3.8 MB). Seafloor spreading, transform faults, subduction, hot spots
Videoclips
Time lapse of the whole lava lake (1 hour real time) during time of variable activity. Remarkably most plate spreading takes place on the left (4.1 MB). Seafloor spreading, transform faults, subduction, hot spots
Videoclips
Time lapse of a section of the lava lake (1 hour real time). Note the highly variable speed and even direction of «plate» movements (4.1 MB). Seafloor spreading, transform faults, subduction, hot spots
Copyright: J. Alean, R. Carniel, M. Fulle.

Erta Ale

Videoclips

Die Aktivität des Lavasees am Erta Ale ist ein hervorragendes Modell für die Plattentektonik des Planeten Erde. Die dunkle Kruste auf dem See widerspiegelt die irdische Lithosphäre und die flüssige Lava die Astheonsphäre. Allerdings schwimmt auf dem See ausschliesslich eine einzige Art von Kruste, so dass entweder Interaktionen von ozeanischer mit ozeanischer oder kontinentaler mit kontinentaler Kruste simuliert wird. Vergleichbare plattentektonische Vorgänge sind jeweils wie dieser Text gekennzeichnet.

Videoclips
Zeitrafferaufnahme des ganzen Lavasees in der Dämmerung (44 Minuten Echtzeit). In der Mitte des Films ändert sich plötzlich die Art der «Plattenbewegung» auf der Seeoberfläche (2.9 MB). Seafloor Spreading, Transformstörungen, Subduktion, Hot Spots
Videoclips
Eine «junge» Fontäne produziert grosse Lavablasen. Am Schluss zoomt Kamera aus, um die Relation zur ansonsten ungestörten Seeoberfläche zu zeigen (3.4 MB). Hot Spot
Videoclips
Eine gut entwickelte, «reife» Fontäne in vollem Sonnenlicht (2.9 MB). Hot Spot
Videoclips
Die Lavafontäne bewegt sich auf die Kamera zu und «frisst» sich dabei durch eine stationäre «Platte». Spalten brechen auf und die Lavakruste wird in die Fontäne hinein gezogen (2.4 MB). Subduktion einer kleinen Platte, Vulkanismus entlang Subduktionszone
Videoclips
Fontäne am Pitrand, dessen Überhang den Auswurf gegen das Seeinnere lenkt. Ein Stück Kruste versinkt bei der Fontäne. Nachtaufnahme (1.5 MB). Subduktion ozeanischer unter kontinentale Kruste (Wand des Pits)
Videoclips
Zuerst wird ein Krustenteil über einen anderen geschoben. Sobald die Kruste bricht, versinken Teile von ihr im See, infolge höherer Dichte dank tieferer Temperatur (1.2 MB). «Slab pull» an Subduktionszonen
Videoclips
Nachtaufnahme einer grossen und einer kleinen Fontäne; Zoom auf die grössere. Krustenstücke versinken dank ihrer höheren Dichte immer schneller im Loch, das die Fontäne aufgerissen hat (3.0 MB). Hot Spots. Allerdings verursachen Hot Spots auf der Erde keine Subduktion von Platten
Videoclips
Verwerfungen und Überschiebungen von Krustenteilen, die sich gegeneinander bewegen. Oben kleine Fontäne (0.8 MB). Transformverwerfungen zunächst unten links, dann auch in der Mitte
Videoclips
Zwei ähnliche, aber voneinander unabhängige Fontänen; Weitwinkelaufnahme zeigt die Grössenverhältnisse; Video «unterbelichtet» zum Hervorheben der Fontänen (0.9 MB). Hot Spots
Videoclips
Zwei Fontänen bewegen sich zueinander hin und vereinigen sich. Video «unterbelichtet» zum Hervorheben von Details in den Fontänen (1.7 MB). Hot Spots
Videoclips
Ungestörte Bildung neuer Kruste. Beachte, dass die drei Krustenteile ungleich schnell voneinander weg wandern (0.8 MB). «Seafloor spreading», zum Beispiel Zone zwischen Pazifischer, Nazca- und Cocosplatte
Videoclips
Auftauchen und Ausbruch einer Gasblase. Ähnliche Blasen traten an dieser Stelle immer wieder auf, ohne sich in eine Fontäne zu entwickeln (0.8 MB).
Videoclips
Ein Krustenteil verschiebt sich gegen den anderen. Dazwischen wird ein kleines Krustenstück wie eine Schnecke aufgerollt (0.3 MB). Oben links: Transformverwerfung (keine Analogie für die «Schnecke»)
Videoclips
Faltung am Vorderteil eines kleinen Krustenstücks, das gegen einen stationären Krustenabschnitt geschoben wird (1.0 MB). Faltung an Kollisionszone zweier kontinentaler Platten (Himalaya, Alpen)
Videoclips
Zeitrafferaufnahme des ganzen Lavasees (38 min. Echtzeit) während starker Aktivität: viele Fontänen und starke Krustenbewegung auf dem ganzen See (2.5 MB). Seafloor Spreading, Transformstörungen, Subduktion, Hot Spots
Videoclips
Zeitrafferaufnahme des ganzen Lavasees (57 min. Echtzeit) während schwacher Aktivität: Wenige Fontänen und Krustenbewegungen nur auf einem Teil des Sees (3.8 MB). Seafloor Spreading, Transformstörungen, Subduktion, Hot Spots
Videoclips
Zeitrafferaufnahme des ganzen Lavasees (1 Stunde Echtzeit) während variabler Aktivität. Beachte, dass Krustenbildung praktisch nur im linken Seeteil erfolgt (4.1 MB). Seafloor Spreading, Transformstörungen, Subduktion, Hot Spots
Videoclips
Zeitrafferaufnahme eines Teil des Lavasees (1 Stunde Echtzeit). Beachte die sehr unterschiedlichen Geschwindigkeiten und Richtungen der Krustenbewegungen (4.1 MB). Seafloor Spreading, Transformstörungen, Subduktion, Hot Spots
Copyright: J. Alean, R. Carniel, M. Fulle.