La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR Panorama Page - September 2005

Clicking the images brings up the panorama. Click and drag to look all around! Zoom in (shift-key) and out (ctrl-key).

La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR Panorama Page - September 2005
After climbing in the morning fog we reach the top of the clouds at Plateau des Palmistes, close to the small tourist hut (at left) on the rim of the Caldera de l'Etang Sec (Dry Pond Caldera). The caldera is filled by the impressive domes of the 1929 (left, 1397m.a.s.l.) and 1902 (right, 1362m.a.s.l.) eruptions. A steep path reaches the top of the 1902 dome. Just on the right is the scenic top of the caldera rim, Morne Lacroix (1247m.a.s.l.).
La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR Panorama Page - September 2005
Morne Lacroix (1247m.a.s.l.) offers the best view of the Caldera de l'Etang Sec with its spectacular andesitic domes. The 1929 dome is partly hidden by summit clouds (left, 1397m.a.s.l.) and is the highest, although the 1902 dome (right, 1362m.a.s.l.) appears higher since it is closer. On the left of the Caldera, Abri Mouttet (hut with seismometers), on the right the prehistoric caldera rim Morne Macouba (1292m.a.s.l.) and the small tourist hut.
La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR Panorama Page - September 2005
Walking over Plateau des Palmistes we reach the north rim of the Caldera de l'Etang Sec just below Morne Macouba on the right. The 1902 dome completely fills this half of the caldera; its summits are Dent Nord (right, 1330m.a.s.l.) and Dent Est (left, 1362m.a.s.l.). The scenic top of Morne Lacroix (1247m.a.s.l.) rises above the caldera rim just left of the 1902 dome.
La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR Panorama Page - September 2005
Before the steep descent, we stop at Monument Dufrènois (right, 1210m.a.s.l.) where Roby asks local people for help as he needs to phone the observatory. From left to right: village Saint Pierre on the coast, the 1929 dome (1397m.a.s.l.), further away the 1902 dome (1362m.a.s.l.), Morne Lacroix on the caldera rim with Morne Macouba in the background.
La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR Panorama Page - September 2005
Saint Pierre: Les Ruines du Figuier. These shops along the harbour were left untouched after being destroyed on 8 May 1902 by the pyroclastic flow which, at 8h02 local time, buried 58 square km in and around the town. Note the charred stones on the top of the walls and the huge block moved here from the volcano's top.
La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR Panorama Page - September 2005
Saint Pierre: The Theater. A circular wall now protects the few remaining ruins left by the catastrophe: the rectangular pit of the orchestra and, behind it, the charred walls of the scenery. In the background, at the center of the stage, the distant volcano seems to rest and wait for its next Plinian eruption in one, two or even more centuries.

Guadeloupe und Martinique

La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR-Panoramen - September 2005

Klick auf Bilder führt zum Panorama. Klicken und ziehen Sie, um sich umzuschauen! Zoom in (Shift-K) und Zoom-out (Ctrl-K).

La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR-Panoramen - September 2005
Nach einem Aufstieg durch den Morgennebel erreichen wir die Wolkenobergrenze auf dem Plateau des Palmistes, nahe bei der kleinen Touristenhütte (links) am Rand der Caldera de l'Etang Sec (Caldera des trockenen Teichs). In ihr befinden sich die eindrucksvollen Staukuppen von 1929 (links, 1397m.ü.M.) und 1902 (rechts, 1362m.ü.M.). Ein steiler Pfad führt zum Gipfel der Staukuppe von 1902. Rechts ist der höchste Punkt des Calderarands, Morne Lacroix (1247m.ü.M.).
La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR-Panoramen - September 2005
Morne Lacroix (1247m.ü.M.) bietet den besten Ausblick auf Caldera de l'Etang Sec mit spektakulären andesitischen Staukuppen. Derjenige von 1929 ist zum Teil von Wolken verdeckt (links, 1397m.ü.M.). Er ist der höchste, obwohl derjenige von 1902 (rechts, 1362m.ü.M.) im Panorama wegen der geringeren Entfernung höher erscheint. Links die Abri Mouttet (Hütte mit Seismometern), rechts der prähistorische Calderarand Morne Macouba (1292m.ü.M.) mit Touristenhütte.
La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR-Panoramen - September 2005
Über das Plateau des Palmistes erreichen wir den Nordrand der Caldera de l'Etang Sec. Morne Macouba befindet sich rechts. Die Staukuppe von 1902 füllt diese Seite der Caldera praktisch vollständig; ihre Gipfel sind der Dent Nord (rechts, 1330m.ü.M.) und Dent Est (links, 1362m.ü.M.). Morne Lacroix (1247m.ü.M.) ragt über den Calderarand unmittelbar rechts von der Staukuppe von 1902.
La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR-Panoramen - September 2005
Vor dem Abstieg machen wir Halt beim Monument Dufrènois (rechts, 1210m.ü.M.) und Roby bittet einhemische Wanderer um Hilfe, um das Vulkanobservatorium anzurufen. Von links nach rechts sieht man: Dorf Saint Pierre an der Küste, die Staukuppe von 1929 (1397m.ü.M.), weiter weg diejenige von 1902 (1362m.ü.M.), Morne Lacroix am Calderarand mit Morne Macouba im Hintergrund.
La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR-Panoramen - September 2005
Saint Pierre: Les Ruines du Figuier. Diese Länden entlang des Hafens blieben nach der Eruption und ihrer Zerstörung durch die Glutlawine am 8. Mai 1902 unberührt. Damals wurden 58 km2 Gelände um und in der Stadt völlig zerstört. Beachte die verbrannten Bausteine oben in den Mauern sowie den grossen Block, der abgelagert wurde.
La Pelée, Martinique, QTVR-Panoramen - September 2005
Saint Pierre: Theater. Eine kreisrunde Mauer schützt die wenigen noch verbleibenden Ruinen und Überreste der Katastrophe: den rechteckigen Orchestergraben und die verbrannten Mauern dahinter. Weit hinten ruht der Vulkan und scheint auf seinen nächsten Ausbruch zuwarten - in einem, zwei oder noch mehr Jahrhunderten?