Sakurajima and Kirishima

QTVR-Panoramas

Clicking the images brings up the corresponding panorama (plug-in needed). Click and drag to look all around you! Zoom in (shift-key) and out (ctrl-key).

QTVR-Panoramas
Takachiho-No-Mine Volcano (1574m)

A recently rebuilt «torii» introduces into the holy area where the old Kirishima Shrine was placed: it celebrates the first apparition of Japanese Gods. We selected this site to observe the Big Leonid Meteor Shower. Francesca shows the exact point where meteor photos were taken.

QTVR-Panoramas
A waterfall, Kirishima

All the chain of Kirishima Volcanoes is protected by a National Park status: this preserves wild environment and allows astronomers to find a very dark night sky, perfect for astronomical observations. Ancient lava flows force rivers to sudden jumps, resulting in typical basaltic waterfalls.

QTVR-Panoramas
Iso-Teien Garden, Kagoshima

Centuries ago, the prince of Tatsuma province built-up this summer palace, with a superb view on the Sakurajima Volcano.

QTVR-Panoramas
Iso-Teien Garden, Kagoshima

The calm perfection of the Garden of the royal palace contrasts with the unforeseeable restlessness of Sakurajima Volcano, distant less than 10 km.

QTVR-Panoramas
Kagoshima Harbour

A susnset view of Sakurajima Volcano from the harbour of Kagoshima, the «Naples of Far East».

QTVR-Panoramas
On the Ferry

We are on the ferry covering the 2km from Kagoshima to Sakurajima Island in twenty minutes.

QTVR-Panoramas
Sakurajima: Yunohira Lookout

The ascent to Sakurajima top is strictly forbidden, since the volcano may always erupt with strong blasts. All the volcano flanks are punctuated by well-orgainzed lookouts, like this at 373m a.s.l. on the west side. Kagoshima City appears behind the Lookout building.

QTVR-Panoramas
Sakurajima: Arimura Lookout

On the south side of the volcano, another lookout is built-up over the last lava flow erupted by the volcano in 1946. The same lava flow enters the sea in the direction opposite to the volcano. Note the cracks in the floor: earthquakes are frequent here...

Sakurajima und Kirishima

QTVR-Panoramen, November 2001

Bei einem Klick auf die Bilder erscheinen die Panoramen (Voraussetzung "plug-in"). Jedes hat ungefähr 500K. Klicken und ziehen Sie, um sich umzuschauen! Zoom in (Shift-K) und Zoom-out (Ctrl-K) sind möglich.

QTVR-Panoramen, November 2001
Takachiho-No-Mine-Vulkan (1574m)

Ein kürzlich wiederaufgebautes "Torii" steht am Eingang zum heiligen Bezirk, wo der alte Kirishima-Schrein stand: Er erinnert an das erste Erscheinen der japanischen Götter. Von diesem Platz aus beobachteten wir den Leonidenschauer. Francesca zeigt den genauen Ort an, von wo aus die Aufnahmen gemacht wurden.

QTVR-Panoramen, November 2001
Wasserfall, Kirishima

Die ganze Kirishima-Vulkankette ist durch einen Nationalpark geschützt. Dadurch bleibt die Natur unberührt und der Astronom findet hier einen perfekt dunklen Nachthimmel für seine Beobachtungen. Flüsse bilden in diesem mit alten Lavaströmen durchsetzten Gebiet typische Basalt-Wasserfälle.

QTVR-Panoramen, November 2001
Iso-Teien Garten, Kagoshima

Vor Jahrhunderten baute der Fürst der Tatsumaprovinz diesen Sommerpalast mit seiner herrlichen Aussicht auf den Vulkan Sakurajima.

QTVR-Panoramen, November 2001
Iso-Teien-Garten, Kagoshima

Diese ruhige Vollkommenheit des königlichen Gartens kontrastiert mit der unvorhersehbaren Unrast des Vulkans Sakurajima, der weniger als 10km entfernt ist.

QTVR-Panoramen, November 2001
Hafen von Kagoshima

Eine Ansicht des Sakurajimavulkans im Abendlicht, aufgenommen vom Hafen von Kagoshima, dem "Neapel des Fernen Ostens", aus.

QTVR-Panoramen, November 2001
Auf der Fähre

Wir befinden uns auf der Fähre, die die 2km von Kagoshima zur Insel Sakurajima in 20 Minuten zurücklegt.

QTVR-Panoramen, November 2001
Sakurajima: Yunohira Lookout

Der Aufstieg zum Sakurajimagipfel ist streng verboten, weil der Vulkan jederzeit ausbrechen kann. Dafür sind auf allen seinen Flanken gut organisierte Aussichtspunkte (Lookouts) eingerichtet worden. Dieser hier liegt auf 373m.ü.M. auf der Westseite; Kagoshima City erkennt man noch knapp hinter dem Gebäude.

QTVR-Panoramen, November 2001
Sakurajima: Arimura Lookout

Auf der Südseite des Vulkans liegt dieser Lookout. Er ist auf dem Lavastrom von 1946 errichtet worden, dem vorläufig letzten, den der Vulkan bis heute ausgestossen hat und der bis zum Ozean reicht. Beachten sie die Risse im Boden, Erdbeben sind hier häufig.