Play with bomb parameters

Changing one parameter in the Stromboli bomb trajectory applet, and leaving all others constant, will give you interesting insights into the effects of physical variables. Try to answers questions such as:

Does size matter?

Use a reasonable launch angle (such as 45°) and launch velocity (such as 100 m/s). Then set bomb diameters to 10, 30, 100, 300 centimetres. If you switch off the effect of air resistance, all bombs will follow the same trajectory. In the real world there obviously is air resistance. It will affect bigger bombs less as their cross section, in relation to their volume and, therefore, mass is smaller. Consequently, during big explosions, far flying bombs will be sorted according to their sizes, with only the biggest bombs reaching the furthest distances from the crater.

Bombs from a unusually strong eruption which fell on Pizzo on 16. October 1993 illustrate the wide range of sizes: The smaller ones on the left have diameters in the order of 20 cm, the bigger one, after impacting on the ground, is nearly 2 meters long; however, in flight it might have been more spherical and, therefore, more compact.

How does the launch angle affect distances reached?

In a vacuum, and on a horizontal ground, the largest distances are reached by a ballistic projectile when launched at an angle of 45°. If air resistance is taken in account or if the terrain is not flat, other angles, usually somewhat smaller than 45°. Other obvious parameters to vary are the launch direction (some places along the coast are much further from the crater than others...), or the starting velocity.

During this small eruption from NE crater bombs are ejected at a large variety of launch angles from 90° (vertical) to perhaps as little as 40°. Note the bomb on the right which travelled furthest due to an "ideal" launch angle.

Experimentieren Sie mit Bombenparametern!

Experimente mit Bombenparametern verhelfen geben Ihnen interessante Einsichten in die Effekte der verschiedenen physikalischen Einflussgrössen. Versuchen Sie einmal, Fragen wie die folgenden zu beantworten.

Kommt es auf die Bombengrösse an?

Starten Sie mit einem vernünftigen Abschusswinkel (zum Beispiel 45°) und Startgeschwindigkeit (zum Beispiel 100 m/s). Setzen Sie dann den Bombendurchmesser auf 10, 30, 100, 300 Zentimeter. Falls Sie den Luftwiderstand "ausschalten" fliegen alle Bomben gleich weit. In der realen Welt gibt es natürlich Luftwiderstand. Er beeinflusst grosse Bomben weniger, da ihre Querschnittsfläche in Bezug auf die Bombenmasse geringer ist. Deshalb fliegen die grössten Bomben bei kräftigen Explosionen am weitesten.

Bomben mit sehr unterschiedlichen Durchmessern landeten nach einer ungewöhnlich heftigen Explosion am 16. Oktober 1993 auf dem Pizzo. Die kleinere links ist etwa 20 cm gross, die grössere nach dem Aufprall am Boden gegen 2 Meter; im Flug dürfte sie allerdings kompakter gewesen sein.

Wie beeinflusst der Abschusswinkel die Distanz des Aufschlagpunkts vom Krater?

In einem Vakuum und über horizontalem Gelände erreicht ein ballistisches Geschoss die grösste Distanz, wenn es in einem Winkel von 45° gegenüber der Horizontalen gestartet wird. Wenn Luftwiderstand im Spiel ist, führen etwas geringere Abschusswinkel zu etwas grösseren Reichweiten. Andere Parameter, die sich zu verändern lohnen sind natürlich die horizontale Schussrichtung (die Küste ist nicht auf allen Seiten gleich weit entfernt...) oder die Startgeschwindigkeit.

Bei diesem kleinen Ausbruch des NE-Kraters fliegen die Bomben in sehr unterschiedlichen Abschusswinkeln aus dem Schlot. Von praktisch vertikal (90°) (vertikal) kommen Winkel bis vielleicht etwa 40° vor. Die Bombe rechts flog infolge des "idealen" Abschusswinkels am weitesten.