About this photo glossary

The idea of compiling this illustrated glossary of glaciological terms derives from our book «Glaciers» (Cambridge University Press, 2004). The glossary at the end of the book was the starting point for this online, illustrated version, to which a German translation was added. The glossary is in non-technical language, and particularly suitable for the ‘educated layperson’, or the school or early university student.

The definitions of terms given in the printed version have sometimes been expanded. Each term is illustrated by what we consider to be a good example of that particular feature. A caption below each photograph explains where, and sometimes in what year, the photograph was taken.

Definitions are given for glaciers and landforms generated or modified by glaciers. Periglacial phenomena (with the exception of "rock glacier"), sea ice and snow are not, or only marginally, covered. Some abstract terms which are hard to illustrate with a photograph are also missing, such as "interglacial period" or “stress”.

SwissEduc - Glaciers online - Fotoglossar

Fotoglossar

Über dieses Fotoglossar

Die Idee zum Aufbau dieses Fotoglossars stammt aus unserem Buch «Glaciers» (Cambridge University Press, 2004). Dessen Glossar war die Basis für diese, illustrierte Version in Deutsch und Englisch. Die Erklärungen wurden möglichst einfach gehalten und richten sich in erster Linie an Schülerinnen und Schüler, Studierende oder interessierte Laien.

Die Definitionen glaziologischer Fachbegriffe wurden gegenüber der gedruckten Version zum Teil erweitert, um bestimmte Details besser zu erklären. Jeder Begriff ist mit einem Foto illustriert, das ein unserer Meinung nach besonders gutes Exemplar des entsprechenden Phänomens zeigt. Darunter gibt eine legende Auskunft über den Aufnahmestandort und, wo möglich und sinnvoll, das Datum.

Die Definitionen beschränken sich (mit Ausnahme von "Blockgletscher") auf Gletscher und ihre landschaftsprägenden Auswirkungen. Das heisst, dass periglaziale Formen (Permafrost), Schnee, See- und Meereis nicht oder nur am Rand berücksichtigt sind. Manche abstrakte Begriffe, die sich kaum durch Bilder veranschaulichen lassen, kommen ebenfalls nicht vor (zum Beispiel "interglazial" oder "stadial").