Astrophotography

September 2000: The Gegenschein

Riccardo Balestrieri with his son Elio (9), Bruno Caprile and Marco Fulle climbed Stromboli on the night of 27./28. September 2000 with (heavy!) astronomical equipment able to track on stars for hour-long exposures. Here we present the results of this volcano-astronomical night spent on Pizzo, together with other astronomical photos taken from the «Crocetta» (close to Stromboli's cemetery) and from the Giulian Alps for comparison. The aim of the expedition was to photograph the faintest and most elusive object in the sky, the Gegenschein. Thanks to a perfect night with no wind at all (necessary to obtain good very long exposures), the aim was reached, thus confirming that Stromboli has one of the darkest skyes in Europe. To give a sense of the perspective, camera lens focal lengths are given (i.e. f=28mm). As usual, the pictures on this page link to larger photos. In order to maintain accurate, point-like star images, little image compression had to be used, which lead to unusually big file sizes (100 to 250 KB).

September 2000: The Gegenschein
28 September 2000, 01:20-02:10 UT (50 min exposure), f=50mm f/2, Elite 400, from Pizzo. We reached Pizzo after midnight, when the sky was dominated by the magnificent constellation of Orion. Note on the left the brilliant red «Rosetta Nebula». The following three images are only enlarged sections of the image above.
September 2000: The Gegenschein
The three stars of Orion's belt are the center of the faint red nebula of «Barnard's loop». The lower left star of the belt excites the red «Horse Head Nebula». Below, the well known Orion Nebula is overexposed.
September 2000: The Gegenschein
Another faint and giant red nebula surronds the star Lambda Orionis. Betelguese shines in bright orange at lower left center. On the left, the external arm of our Galaxy shines with thousands of young blue stars.
September 2000: The Gegenschein
In the second half of the night sporadic meteors reach maximum frequency. Therefore long exposure photographs commonly capture some of them. This reminds us that we were here not to study constellations and nebulae, but dust of our Solar System.
September 2000: The Gegenschein
26 September 2000, 21:00-21:40 UT (40 min exposure), f=16mm f/2.8 (fish-eye photo, diagonal = 180°), Elite 400, from «Crocetta» (covering the sky in the upper left corner), Stromboli. The summer Milky Way spans from Aquila up to the Perseus Double Cluster. On the lower left tourists descend the volcano after an evening trip with the local guides. Three red paths of airplanes cross Cygnus, Lyra and Vulpecula (this is the only defect of Stromboli's night sky...).
September 2000: The Gegenschein
28 September 2000, 01:20-02:10 UT (50 min exposure), f=16mm f/2.8, from Pizzo, Stromboli. The Winter Milky Way from Deneb (in the steam reddened by the volcano's eruptions) to Procyon (upper right corner). On the top the Hyades, Pleiades, Jupiter (right) and Saturn (left). Below them, the red «California Nebula» borders the Milky Way. On the right, the morning zodiacal light above the Calabria horizon (lower right corner) crosses Cancer (with the Praesepe Cluster) and Gemini.
September 2000: The Gegenschein
28 September 2000, 00:20-01:10 UT (50 min exposure), f=16mm f/2.8 (fish-eye photo, diagonal = 180°), Elite 400, from Pizzo, Stromboli. This wide angle view covers the sky from Orion (left) to Aquarius (right), with Jupiter and the Hyades (left) and Saturn and the Pleiades (right) in Taurus. The Gegenschein is the wide bright blob between Pisces and Cetus, exactly in the antisolar point of the sky. The horizon is marked by the Sicily lights and Salina Island (right).
September 2000: The Gegenschein
21 October 2000, 20:20-20:55 UT (35 min exposure), f=16mm f/2.8 (fish-eye photo, diagonal = 180°), Elite 400, from Mt. Matajur, 1325 m.a.s.l. After a month, the Gegenschein has moved into Aries, following the Sun's apparent annual motion. Here it is barely visible, showing that the sky above the Alps is less suited to astrophotography than that of Stromboli (Trieste city lights in the lower right corner). The Winter Milky Way crosses the top of the image from Auriga (left) to Cygnus and Delphinus (right).
September 2000: The Gegenschein
21 October 2000, 21:00-21:45 UT (45 min exposure), f=16mm f/2.8 (fish-eye photo, diagonal = 180°), Elite 400, from Mt. Matajur. This photo shows that light pollution from aeroplanes is a common problem in wide angle astrophotography. The longer exposure makes the Gegenschein evident. Orion rises from the eastern horizon.
September 2000: The Gegenschein
21 October 2000, 21:50-22:10 UT (20 min exposure), f=16mm f/2.8 (fish-eye photo, diagonal = 180°), Elite 400, from Mt. Matajur. This is not an aurora but simply a jet stream in the upper atmosphere. It causes high cirrus clouds which soon put an end to our investigation of the Gegenschein which requires a perfectly uniform, dark sky.
September 2000: The Gegenschein
23 October 2000, 19:45-20:35 UT (50 min exposure), f=16mm f/2.8 (fish-eye photo, diagonal = 180°), Elite 400, from Mt. Matajur. After two days we take advantage of a perfect night. This view spans from rising Orion (lower left corner) to Delphinus (upper right corner). The Gegenschein is in the lower center of the photo. Above it are the Andromeda Galaxy and the Cepheus Milky Way (top).
September 2000: The Gegenschein
23 October 2000, 21:40-22:10 UT (30 min exposure), f=16mm f/2.8 (fish-eye photo, diagonal = 180°), Elite 400, from Mt. Matajur. After two hours the Gegenschein has rotated in the photo frame which proves that it is not a camera or film artifact. The darker sky above Slovenia (horizon on the left) compared to Italy's (right) allows us to glimpse the red nebula of Lambda Orionis.
The Gegenschein

Our whole Solar System is embedded in a cloud of dust released both by asteroids during their mutual collisions, and by comets during the development of their dust tails. Due to complex interactions between dust and solar radiation, all this dust collapses towards the Sun building up an ellipsoidal cloud centered on our star. Its density increases towards its center. When we look in a direction between the solar and the antisolar point we can see the sunlight reflected by this dust. This is the Zodiacal light, which is obviously brighter close to the Sun. The cause of the Gegenschein is more subtle, because it is not due to a real increase of dust density. It is an apparent effect due to the so-called radiation backscattering: particles of sizes close to the wavelength of light reflect light backwards much better than in all other directions (strictly speaking, the forward scattering is even stronger but, in the case of Solar System dust, it is hidden by the sunlight). The same light backscattering is the origin of the Brocken (Stromboli LiveCam image) effect in common fog.

Astrofotografie

September 2000: Der Gegenschein

Riccardo Balestrieri und sein Sohn Elio (9), Bruno Caprile und Marco Fulle bestiegen Stromboli in der Nacht vom 27./28. September 2000. Sie trugen eine schwere astronomische Ausrüstung auf den Gipfel um nachgeführte Langzeitbelichtungen des Nachthimmels aufzunehmen. Wir zeigen Ihnen hier die Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit auf dem Pizzo, zusammen mit Vergleichsaufnahmen, die bei der «Crocetta» (nahe bei Strombolis Friedhof) und solchen, die in den Julischen Alpen aufgenommen wurden. Zweck der Unternehmung war es, den sehr schwierig aufzunehmenden Gegenschein auf den Film zu bannen. Dank einer perfekt windstillen Nacht hatten sie Erfolg. Um eine Vorstellung von der Perspektive zu vermitteln, geben wir die jeweiligen Objektivbrennweiten an (z.B. f=28mm: Weitwinkelaufnahme). Wie immer sind die kleinen Bilder Links zu grösseren (etwa 100 bis 250 KB).

September 2000: Der Gegenschein
28. September 2000, 01:20-02:10 UT (50min Belichtungszeit), f=50mm f/2, Elite 400, von Pizzo. Wir erreichten Pizzo nach Mitternacht, als Orion hoch im Süden stand. Beachten Sie den auffällig roten «Rosettennebel» links im Bild. Die drei Bilder rechts sind vergrösserte Ausschnitte dieser Aufnahme.
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
Die drei Gürtelsterne des Orion stehen im Zentrum eines riesigen, schwach rötlich leuchtendenden, bogenförmigen Nebel, dem «Barnard's Loop». Der linke untere Gürtelstern regt den roten Nebel beim «Pferdekopfnebel» zum Leuchten an. Weiter unten ist der überbelichtete Orionnebel.
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
Ein weiterer, nur schwach rötlich leuchtender, aber ausgedehnter Nebel umgibt den Stern Lambda Orionis, etwa in der Mitte des Bildes. Betelguese leuchtet hell orange links unter der Bildmitte. Links im Bild ist ein Teil der Milchstrasse.
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
In der zweiten Nachthälfte treten die meisten sporadischen Meteore («Sternschnuppen») auf. Nicht selten erwischt man den einen oder anderen auf einer langbelichteten Aufnahme. Kleine Meteore sind Staubteilchen aus dem Sonnensystem, die in der Erdatmosphäre verglühen.
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
26. September 2000, 21:00-21:40 UT (40min Belichtungszeit), f=16mm f/2.8 (Fischaugen-Objektiv, Bilddiagonale 180°), Elite 400, von «Crocetta», Stromboli. Die Milchstrasse erstreckt sich vom Sternbild Aquila bis zum Perseus Doppelsternhaufen. LInks unten die Lichter von Touristen, die vom Stromboli heruntersteigen. Drei Leuchtspuren von Flugzeugen durchqueren die Sternbilder Cygnus, Lyra und Vulpecula.
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
28. September 2000, 01:20-02:10 UT (50min Belichtungszeit), f=16mm f/2.8, von Pizzo, Stromboli. Die Milchstrasse erstreckt sich vom Stern Deneb (im rötlichen Rauch einer Eruption) bis zum Stern Procyon (rechte obere Ecke). Zuoberst die Hyaden, Pleiaden, Jupiter (rechts) und Saturn (links). Unter diesen Planeten der rötliche «Kaliforniennebel». Rechts erkennt man das Morgen-Zodiakallicht über dem hellen Horizont von Kalabrien.
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
28. September 2000, 00:20-01:10 UT (50min Belichtungszeit), f=16mm f/2.8 (Fischaugen-Objektiv, Bilddiagonale 180°), Elite 400, von Pizzo, Stromboli. Diese WEitwinkelaufnahme reicht vom Orion (links) bis zum Aquarius (rechts), mit Jupiter und den Hyaden (links) sowie Saturn und den Pleiaden (rechts). Der Gegenschein ist der grosse helle Fleck, ungefähr in der Bildmitte. Er markiert den Gegenpunkt zur Sonne. Am HOrizont die Lichter von Sizilien und Salina (rechts).
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
21. Oktober 2000, 20:20-20:55 UT (35min Belichtungszeit), f=16mm f/2.8 (Fischaugen-Objektiv, Bilddiagonale 180°), Elite 400, von Matajur, 1325 m.ü.M. Ein Monat später ist der Gegenschein in Sternbild Aries gawandert. Er folgt natürlich der jahrezeitlichen, scheinbaren Bewegung der Sonne. Er ist hier etwas weniger gut erkennbar als auf den BIldern von Stromboli, da der Himmel über den Alpen weniger dunkel ist als über Stromboli.
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
21. Oktober 2000, 21:00-21:45 UT (45min Belichtungszeit), f=16mm f/2.8 (Fischaugen-Objektiv, Bilddiagonale 180°), Elite 400, von Matajur. Zwar stören hier Leuchtspuren von Flugzeugen, doch macht die längere Belichtungszeit den Gegenschein etwas besser sichtbar. Das Sternbild Orion geht eben am Osthorizont auf.
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
21. Oktober 2000, 21:50-22:10 UT (20min Belichtungszeit), f=16mm f/2.8 (Fischaugen-Objektiv, Bilddiagonale 180°), Elite 400, von Matajur. Bei den Streifen am Himmel handelt es sich nicht um Polarlichter, sondern nur um hohe Zirruswolken. Solche verunmöglichen es sofort, den Gegenschein zu fotografieren.
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
23. Oktober 2000, 19:45-20:35 UT (50min Belichtungszeit), f=16mm f/2.8 (Fischaugen-Objektiv, Bilddiagonale 180°), Elite 400, von Matajur. Zwei Tage später haben wir nochmals eine sehr gute Nacht. Dieses Bild erstreckt sich vom aufgehenden Orion (linke untere Bildecke) bis Delphinus (obere rechte Ecke). Der Gegenschein ist etwas links der Bildmitte. Darüber die Andromeda Galaxie und die Milchstrasse (ganz oben).
September 2000: Der Gegenschein
23. Oktober 2000, 21:40-22:10 UT (30min Belichtungszeit), f=16mm f/2.8 (Fischaugen-Objektiv, Bilddiagonale 180°), Elite 400, von Matajur. Nach zwei Stunden ist der Gegenschein infolge der Eigenrotation der Erde weitergewandert. Dies beweist, dass es sich bei der zarten Aufhellung weder um ein Film- noch ein Kameraartefakt handelt. Im etwas dunkleren Himmel über Slowenien erkennt man gerade noch den rötlichen Nebel um Lambda Orionis.
Der Gegenschein

Das ganze Sonnensystem befindet sich innerhalb einer riesigen Wolke aus interplanetarem Staub. Dieser stammt von gegenseitigen Kollisionen von Asteroiden sowie von Kometenschweifen. Infolge komplexer Wechselwirkungen zwischen den Staubteilchen und der Sonnenstrahlung fällt der Staub nach und nach gegen die Sonne. So bildet sich eine ellipsoidische Wolke von Staub, in deren Zentrum die Sonne steht und deren Dichte gegen die Sonne hin zunimmt. Wenn wir im Sonnensystem in irgend eine beliebige Richtung schauen, sehen wir Sonnenlicht, das von diesem Staub reflektiert wird. Das ist das sogenannte Zodiakallicht, das natürlich in der Nähe der Sonne am hellsten erscheint. Der Gegenschein wird noch durch einen weiteren Effekt verursacht. Er befindet sich zwar am Himmel genau 180 Grad von der Sonne entfernt. Dort ist eine Aufhellung des Zodiakallichts zu erkennen, doch hat diese nichts mit einer grösseren Staubdichte zu tun. Sie entsteht durch Rückstreuung des Sonnenlichts an Staubpartikeln, die annähernd gleich gross sind wie die Wellenlänge des Lichts. Diese streuen nämlich Licht genau rückwärts besser als in allen anderen Richtungen (genau genommen ist die Streuung nach vorn sogar noch stärker, aber diesen Effekt kann man im Sonnensystem nicht sehen, da man dann gegen die Sonne schauen müsste). Die gleiche Art von Rückwärtsstreuung ist auch verantwortlich für das atmosphärische Phänomen des «Brockengespensts» (Stromboli LiveCam-Bild) in ganz normalem Nebel.