Glaciers of the World

Glacier hazards

Over the centuries, glaciers have been responsible for many natural disasters as a result of ice avalanches. Other disasters have arisen from the damming of lakes by glaciers and moraines, followed by failure of the dam. The worst disasters, accounting for tens of thousands of lives, have occurred in Peru, but other seriously affected regions have been the Himalaya and the Alps. This section illustrates the vulerability of some regions and the consequences that follow from a catstrophic event.

Glacier hazards
A curious block of ice has fallen off a hanging glacier on the south side of the Mönch (4099 m), Switzerland. Despite its moderate mass of about 55 tones, the compact snow surface has allowed it to travel an exceptionally long distance. Falling ice is one of the dangers that climbers face in glacierized mountain areas. JA
Glacier hazards
Ice avalanche from the snout of Festigletscher, Canton Valais, Switzerland in 1981. An estimated 2000 cubic metres of ice were involved. Considerably larger events of this nature have been known to threaten the village of Randa in the valley below. JA
Glacier hazards
A major ice avalanche from a hanging glacier on the south flank of Mönch (4099 m), Switzerland. More than 300,000 cubic metres of ice fell, some of it traversing the popular route from Jungfraujoch to the Möchsjochhütte. Nobody was hurt, but these tourists are unknowingly exposing themselves to further potential avalanches. JA
Glacier hazards
The glacierized summit of Nevado Huascarán Norte (6746 m), Peru, at sunset. On 31 May 1970 a powerful earthquake caused part of the summit icefield to collapse along with rock from the exposed face below the summit. The avalanche swept down the mountain, obliterating the town of Yungay and its 18,000 inhabitants. MH
Glacier hazards
The full length of the route of the disastrous Huascarán avalanche is illustrated in this photo. The avalanche was largely constrained by the steep valley below but a small part spilled over a ridge to the left of the steep valley, wiping out Yungay. The town has been rebuilt in a safer location on the hillside off the picture to the left. MH
Glacier hazards
Satellite image of Huaraz (H) and its relationship with the nearby Cordillera Blanca, Peru. An outburst flood from Laguna Cohup (P) on 13 December 1947 killed 7000 people. Dangers were reduced later by lowering of the moraine-dammed lake Llaca (L) in the adjacent valley (NASA image 5 November 2001).
Glacier hazards
Ground view of lake Llaca illustrating the high moraine dam, behind which is a lake with calving glacier. The spillway was constructed to lower the lake to a safe level. MH
Glacier hazards
Laguna Parón, dammed by debris-mantled glacier Hatanraju before the lake level was lowered (photo taken in 1981). The lake has been artificially lowered by tunnelling through bedrock to the left of the moraine dam, at least temporarily averting the threat of an outburst flood. JA
Glacier hazards
Laguna Parón after lowering of the water level (photograph taken in 2002). The lake margins and the sandy beaches left high and dry through lowering of the lake. In the background, another lake is forming behind a moraine dam, indicating that an outburst is possible in future, although Laguna Parón may have the capacity to hold it. MH
Glacier hazards
This huge pile of boulders and logs forms a partial blockage of the river below Laguna Soler in a remote valley below the North Patagonian Icefield. We interpret this as the product of a glacial lake outburst flood, as the lake level appears to have been dramatically lowered by a breach in the nearby moraine dam. MH
Glacier hazards
The glacierized Himalayan border region of Bhutan (bottom) and Tibet (top) seen in an satellite image. At bottom right are a series of moraine dammed lakes. A breach of one dam in 1994 led to severe flooding and loss of life up to 200 km downstream. Hazards are continuing to build up in this area to critical levels. (Courtesy NASA; 29 May 2002).
Glacier hazards
A glacial lake outburst flood in1977 at Nare Glacier, in the Khumbu Himal of Nepal, caused severe erosion of old moraines downstream. The terrace on which the village of Pangboche is located has also been partially destabilised. Such events may not cause much loss of life in this valley, but if agricultural ground is lost to the river, then the impact on communities can be severe. MH
Glacier hazards
Glacial lake outburst floods transport huge amounts of debris, including large boulders. If the boulders become lodged, small boulders pile up behind, and ‘boulder jams’ form, as in this example below Nare Glacier, Khumbu Himal. MH
Glacier hazards
Potentially hazardous moraine-dammed lakes are forming in many parts of the Himalaya. The lake in this photograph, associated with Imja Glacier, Khumbu Himal, has grown within a decade, and some scientists have predicted that this is a candidate for failure. MH
Glacier hazards
As lakes form behind moraine dams, the glacier commonly recedes as a calving vertical cliff. Here, the snout of Imja Glacier, covered in debris, produces small icebergs, although a large calving event might generate a displacement wave that could affect the integrity of the dam. MH
Glacier hazards
Ghiacciao del Belvedere near Macugnaga in the Italian Alps advanced in a surge-like fashion. The Little Ice Age moraine was being breached, trees were being felled, and falling boulders began to threaten tourist infrastructure. JA
Glacier hazards
A potential hazard associated with the unusual behaviour of Ghiacciao del Belvedere was the rapid growth of a supraglacial lake, the bursting of which was felt to be likely. Pumps were installed to lower the lake to safer levels. JA
Glacier hazards
Like many other glaciers, the advancing Nigårdsbreen, an outlet glacier from Josterdalsbreen ice cap discharges water in an unpredictable manner. A sudden increase in discharge took these tourists by surprise, and they were lucky to escape with their lives. JA
  
Photos: Michael Hambrey (MH), Jürg Alean (JA)

Gletscher der Welt

Gletscher als Naturgefahren

Gletscher sind über Jahrhunderte hinweg die Ursache für viele natürliche Katastrophen gewesen, z. B. als Auslöser von Eislawinen. Andere Unglücke geschahen, weil Dämme von eisgestauten Seen brachen. In Peru gab es die schlimmsten Unglücke mit mehreren zehn Tausend Toten. Weitere Gefahrenregionen sind der Himalya und die Alpen. In diesem Abschnitt werden anfällige Gebiete und Folgen dieser katastrophalen Ereignisse gezeigt.

Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Ein grosser Eisblock hat sich von einem Hängegletscher an der Südseite des Mönchs (4099m), Schweiz, gelöst. Trotz mässiger Grösse (ca. 55 Tonnen) ist er aufgrund der geschlossenen Schneedecke weit geglitten. Solch abbrechendes Eis gefährdet Bergsteiger in manchen vergletscherten Gebieten. JA
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Das Bild zeigt eine Eislawine von der Gletscherstirn des Festigletscher, Kanton Wallis, Schweiz, in 1981. Etwa 2000 Kubikmeter Eis brachen ab. Sehr viel grössere Eislawinen bedrohten das Dorf Randa im Tal darunter. JA
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Eine grosse Eislawine eines Hängegletschers an der Südflanke des Mönchs (4099m) in der Schweiz transportierte mehr als 300’000 Kubikmeter Eis. Einiges davon überquerte die berühmte Wanderroute vom Jungfraujoch zur Mönchsjochhütte. Niemand wurde verletzt, aber diese Touristen hier setzen sich unwissentlich der Lawinengefahr aus. JA
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Die vergletscherte Spitze des Nevado Huascarán Norte (6746 m), Peru, bei Sonnenuntergang. Am 31. Mai 1970 verursachte ein starkes Erdbeben einen Abbruch des Hängegletschers und von einem Teil des Gesteins an der Spitze des Berges. Die Lawine löschte die Stadt Yungay und ihre 18.000 Einwohner aus. MH
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Im Bild ersichtlich ist die komplette Sturzbahn der katastrophalen Huascarán-Lawine. Die Lawine wurde hauptsächlich von dem tiefen Tal unterhalb des Berges aufgehalten aber ein kleiner Teil entwich über eine Hügelkette links des tiefen Tales, was zur Vernichtung Yungays führte. Die Stadt wurde an einer sichereren Stelle auf dem Berghang links im Bild wieder aufgebaut. MH
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Ein Satellitenbild von Huaraz (H) in der Nähe des Cordillera Blanca, Peru. Ein Jökulhlaup vom Laguna Cohup (P) am 13. Dezember 1947 tötete 7000 Menschen. Die Gefahr wurde später gemässigt, indem der Wasserspiegel des Moränensees Llaca (L) im benachbarten Tal gesenkt wurde (Bild NASA, November 2001).
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Bodenansicht des Llaca-Sees mit einem grossen Moränendamm. Im Hintergrund ein See mit einem kalbenden Gletscher. Der Abflusskanal wurde gebaut, um das Wasser in dem See auf einen sicheren Pegelstand zu bringen. MH
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Die Laguna Parón ist von dem mit Felsschutt bedeckten Gletscher Hatanraju eingedämmt. Der Wasserspiegel des Sees wurde künstlich gesenkt, indem das Wasser durch einen Tunnel im Fels abgeleitet wurde, was zumindest vorläufig die Gefahr eines Jökulhlaups verhindert. JA
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Die Laguna Parón nach dem Absenken des Wasserspiegels (Foto von 2002). Die Ufer des Sees - teilweise mit Sandstränden - sind freigelegt und trocken. Im Hintergrund bildet sich ein neuer See hinter dem Moränendamm, was bedeutet, dass ein erneuter Jökulhlaup in der Zukunft möglich ist, obwohl die Laguna Parón womöglich die Kapazität hat, das Wasser aufzufangen. MH
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Steine und Buamstämme blockieren den Fluss aus der Laguna Soler in einem entfernten Tal unter dem Nordpatagonischen Eisfeld teilweise. Wir interpretieren dies als das Ergebnis eines Jökulhlaups, da der Wasserspiegel des Sees anscheinend dramatisch durch einen Durchbruch in einem nahe gelegenen Moränendamm abgesenkt wurde. MH
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Die vergletscherte Region Bhutan (unten) am Rande des Himalayas und Tibets (oben) in einem Satellitenbild. Unten rechts befindet sich eine Reihe von Moränenseen. Ein Brucheines Damms in 1994 führte zu starken Überschwemmungen und zu Todesopfern bis zu 200km stromabwärts. Diese Gefahren bestehen weiterhin in diesem Gebiet. (Foto: NASA; 29 May 2002).
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Ein Jökulhlaup in 1977 am Nare Glacier im Khumbu Himal, Nepal, hat mehrere alte Moränen flussabwärts stark erodiert. Die Terrasse, auf der das Dorf Pangboche gebaut ist, wurde auch teilweise angegriffen. Solche Ereignisse verursachen kaum Todesopfer, doch der Verlust von landwirtschaftlichem Boden kann für die Dörfer einschneidend sein. MH
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Jökulhlaups transportieren grosse Mengen an Schutt und grossen Felsbrocken. Wenn sich die Felsbrocken ablagern, häufen sich kleinere Brocken hinter ihnen an und bilden sogenannte „Geröllstaus“ wie z.B. hier unterhalb des Nare Glacier im Khumbu Himal. MH
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Möglicherweise gefährliche, moränengedämmte Seen bilden sich in vielen Teilen des Himalayas. Der See in diesem Bild unterhalb des Imja Glacier, Khumbu Himal, ist im letzten Jahrzehnt gewachsen und einige Wissenschaftler haben vorausgesagt, dass er wahrscheinlich einen Jökulhlaup verursachen wird. MH
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Da Seen sich meistens hinter einem Moränendamm bilden, geht der Gletscher oftmals mit einem kalbenden, senkrechten Kliff zurück. Hier produziert die Gletscherstirn des mit Geröll bedeckten Imja Glacier nur kleine Eisberge. Eine grössere Eiskalbung könnte eine grosse Welle verursachen, die die Stabilität des Dammes beeinträchtigen würde. MH
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Der Ghiacciao del Belvedere in der Nähe von Macugnaga in den italienischen Alpen drang in Schüben vor. Die Moräne der Kleinen Eiszeit wurde durchbrochen, Bäume wurden umgestossen und fallende Felsbrocken gefährdeten Touristen. JA
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Das aussergewöhnliche Wachstum des supraglazialen Sees Ghiacciao del Belvedere hatte die potentielle Gefahr eines Ausbruchs zur Folge. Pumpen wurden installiert, um den Wasserspiegel zu senken. JA
Gletscher als Naturgefahren
Wie viele andere Gletscher verursacht auch der vorrückende Nigårdsbreen, ein Auslassgletscher des Jostedalsbreen Eisschildes, gelegentlich Hochwasser. Ein plötzlicher Anstieg des Abflusses überraschte diese Touristen und sie hatten Glück, dass sie mit dem Leben davon kamen. JA
  
Fotos: Michael Hambrey (MH), Jürg Alean (JA)