Glaciers of the World

Living and travelling on glaciers

This section illustrates the ways humans live on glaciers, ranging from camping to large field stations. It shows also the various modes of glacier travel and the accompanying dangers. There are also images of the principal means of transport to glaciers in remote regions, such as by ship and aircraft. The main focus is on research work in the polar regions.

Living and travelling on glaciers
Camping on glaciers is one of life’s special attractions to an Antarctic scientist, despite its sometimes-arduous nature. Here, a geologist’s camp of the US Antarctic Program is set up on the lateral moraines of Shackleton glacier at 85º S. Traditional-style Scott pyramid tents are supplemented by modern lightweight mountaineering tents. Flags are used as markers in case of blizzards. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
Crevasses are one of the main obstacles to glacier travel. If they are visible, as this one on Griesgletscher, Canton Valais, Switzerland, then deviations from ones route are necessary. If they are bridged by snow, roping-up is necessary, and constant probing is necessary if one is to avoid falling through a bridge. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
Meltstream on the surface of White Glacier, Axel Heiberg Island, Canadian Arctic, beginning to emerge from the winter snow cover. Streams on Arctic glaciers can be several metres deep and be un-crossable, especially when the snow is beginning to melt and large areas of slush develop beneath the snow cover. The slush can sluice off down-glacier with little warning. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
Crossing glacial meltwater streams may be more difficult in the afternoon than in the morning due to changing amounts of discharge. The upper picture (visible only after clicking) was taken below Vadret da Morteratsch on a July morning, the lower in the afternoon after ablation and subsequent runoff had increased considerably. JA
Living and travelling on glaciers
On the highland icefields of Spitsbergen, Norwegian Arctic, the weather can change suddenly. This storm approaching Wilsonbreen arrived within a few hours, and blizzard conditions subsequently prevailed for 3-days, confining the party in their tents. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
Walking on glaciers is fraught with many dangers, and roping up is usually necessary where the hazards are hidden. Here, during a training exercise, roped parties are crossing crevassed terrain on Ross Island. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
Cross-country skiing on Lomonosovfonna with a fibreglass ‘pulk’ (lightweight, boat-shaped sledge), a highland icefield in Spitsbergen. This is an efficient way of travelling over the undulating, snow-covered glaciers. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
A British Antarctic Survey dog-team on Adelaide Island, Antarctica. With the withdrawal of dogs from Antarctica under environmental regulations in the mid 1990s, travellers now have to rely on mechanised transport. (Courtesy of Nick Cox).
Living and travelling on glaciers
The strongly-built Greenland husky was the mainstay of Antarctic dog-sledging. This animal, outside Scott Base in McMurdo Sound was a member of the last New Zealand dog team, shortly before its removal to New Zealand in 1987. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
For travel in small parties snow-scooters (‘skidoos’) are the ideal mode of transport over snow-covered glaciers. Here members of a geological party pause beneath 1500 m-high peaks during a 6-week summer-time traverse of the icefields of Ny Friesland in NE Spitsbergen. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
In mixed terrain of bare ground and snow-free glaciers, all-terrain vehicles have become popular. Here a geological party has just parked its Honda ATVs at camp at Hamilton Point on James Ross Island, just as a blizzard begins. Icebergs in Admiralty Sound can be seen through the driving snow. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
For carrying heavy equipment and large numbers of people in Antarctic tractor trains are commonly used. Here we see a Kiwi field party of the sea ice in front of Barnes Glacier cliff on Ross Island. This versatile Swedish-built tracked vehicle, a Hagglund, can even float if it breaks through the sea ice. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
At the top end of the mechanical transport spectrum is this huge comfortable bus, named ‘Ivan the Terrabus’, presumably after one of the Russian Tsars. It is used by the US Antarctic Program to ferry passengers to Williams Field, the runway on McMurdo Ice Shelf near Ross Island. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
Major scientific operations in Antarctica that involve ice drilling or co-ordinated geological projects require the installation of the equivalent of a small village. The US Antarctic Program relies on LC-130 ski-equipped ‘Hercules’ aircraft, as here in support of a geological programme on Shackleton Glacier in the Transantarctic Mountains. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
A UH-1N ‘Huey’ helicopter, operated by Antarctic Development Squadron Six, is typical of the support scientists receive for short journeys to field sites in the McMurdo Sound region. This aircraft is providing support during a stop-over at Taylor Glacier in the Dry Valleys. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
Camping equipment in Antarctica must be able to withstand hurricane-force winds. Pyramids are anchored down rocks, snow and supplies. Here we see a French-manufactured ‘Squirrel’ helicopter approaching a camp on Shackleton Glacier, Antarctica with a view to resupplying a US geological party. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
Only icebreakers can sail safely through iceberg-infested waters, and even then underwater iceberg projections (‘keels’) can pose a serious hazard. Here the Royal Navy icebreaker, HMS Endurance, is undertaking a hydrographic survey between James Ross Island and Snow Hill Island in the Antarctic Peninsula region, so maintaining a grid pattern of necessity entailed sailing close to clusters of icebergs. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
An unusual luxury for a British Antarctic Survey glaciological party in the ‘deep field’, several weeks into a field season, is a hot bath, improvised from a hot-water drilling system for measuring internal deformation of an ice stream. (Photo courtesy of David Vaughan).
Living and travelling on glaciers
A geological field party camping in the accumulation area of Wilsonbreen, an outlet glacier in NE Spitsbergen, with the peak of Backlundtoppen (1081 m) in the background. Tents are secured by piling snow on the valences. The vehicle to the left is an all-terrain ‘Argocat’, fitted with snow tracks. The party had to be completely self-sufficient for a period of 6 weeks as it traversed this remote glacierised terrain. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
Major scientific programmes in Antarctica, away from the main bases, require complex logistical requirements. American operations are usually large-scale, as this geological expedition on the Shackleton Glacier in the central Transantarctic Mountains indicates. The camp was supplied by ski-equipped Hercules aircraft, with more local transport provided by two ‘Squirrel’ helicopters and a fixed-wing Twin Otter. MH
Living and travelling on glaciers
Permanent stations on the Antarctic ice sheet have developed a variety of strategies to cope with snow accumulation, especially as snow drift tends to bury any object. The simplest approach is to use reinforced buildings and gradually allow them to be buried, such as Germany’s Georg von Neumayer station on the Ekstroem Ice Shelf. Living underground, however, is not the best way of experiencing Antarctica. MH
   
Photos: Michael Hambrey (MH), Jürg Alean (JA)

Gletscher der Welt

Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern

In diesem Abschnitt wird gezeigt, wie Menschen auf Gletschern leben. Möglichkeiten der Gletscherbegehung und die damit zusammenhängenden Gefahren sowie Transportmöglichkeiten zu abgelegnen Gletschern (z.B. mit dem Schiff oder Flugzeug) werden auch gezeigt. Der Schwerpunkt wird hierbei auf die Forschungsarbeit in den polaren Regionen gelegt.

Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Kampieren auf Gletschern ist eine besondere Attraktion im Leben eines Naturwissenschaftlers der Antarktis, obwohl es manchmal sehr beschwerlich sein kann. Im Bild hier erkennt man ein Feldlager des US Antarctic Program, welches auf Seitenmoränen des Shackleton Glacier (85ºS) aufgebaut ist. Traditionelle pyramidenförmige Scott-Zelte wechseln sich mit modernen leichten Bergsteigerzelten ab. Die Fahnen dienen im Falle eines heftigen Schneesturmes als Orientierung. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Gletscherspalten stellen einige der größten Hindernisse während einer Gletscherwanderung dar. Wenn ersichtlich, so wie hier auf dem Griesgletscher, Kanton Wallis, Schweiz, müssen die Routen oft geändert werden. Wenn sie mit Schnee gefüllt sind, muss man sich anseilen und die Festigkeit des Untergrunds erproben, um einen Sturz durch eine Schneebrücke zu vermeiden. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Ein Schmelzwasserrinnsal auf der Oberfläche des White Glacier, Axel Heiberg Island in der kanadischen Arktis im Winterschnee. Solche Bäche auf arktischen Gletschern können mehrere Meter tief sein, so daß man sie nicht überqueren kann, besonders wenn der Schnee zu schmelzen beginnt und sich große Schneematschgebiete unter der Schneedecke bilden. Der Schneematsch kann abrupt und ohne Vorwarnung abrutschen. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Das Überqueren von Schmelzwasserflüssen kann am Nachmittag schwieriger sein, als am Morgen wegen der variierenden Menge des Abflusses. Das obere Bild (erst im grossen Bild sichtbar) wurde unter dem Vadret da Morteratsch an einem Julimorgen gemacht, das untere am Nachmittag, als das Abschmelzen und somit auch der Abfluss stärker geworden waren. JA
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Das Wetter kann sich in den Hochländern von Spitzbergen in der norwegischen Arktis sehr schnell ändern. Dieser Sturm, der sich hier Wilsonbreen nähert, ist innerhalb von ein paar Stunden angekommen und Schneesturm gab es anschließend für drei Tage, in denen die Gruppe in ihren Zelten bleiben musste. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Gletscherwanderungen können sehr gefährlich sein; das Anseilen ist sehr wichtig, vor allem weil Gefahren nicht immer klar ersichtlich sind. Hier überquert eine Reisegruppe ein Gebiet mit vielen Gletscherspalten während eines Trainings auf Ross Island, Antarktis. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Langlaufen auf dem Lomonosovfonna, ein Eisfeld im Hochland von Spitzbergen - mit einem Schlitten aus Glasfasern. Dies ist eine sehr effektiver Art und Weise der Fortbewegung auf unregelmäßigen und schneebedekten Gletschern. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Ein Hundeschlitten des British Antarctic Survey auf Adelaine Island in der Antarktis. Mit dem Verbot von Hunden Mitte der 90er Jahre sind Reisende heutzutage auf motorisierte Transportmittel angewiesen. (Bild Nick Cox).
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Der kräftige Grönlandhusky war die Hauptstütze der antarktischen Hundeschlittenfahrt. Dieses Tier vor der Scott Base in McMurdo Sound war ein Mitglied des letzten neuseeländischen Hundeteams, bevor dieses in 1987 zurück nach Neuseeland geholt wurde. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Für das Reisen auf schneebedeckten Gletschern in kleineren Gruppen sind Motorschlitten die besten Transportmittel. Hier ruhen sich Mitglieder einer geologischen Forschungsgruppe, welche die Eiskappen von Ny Friesland im nordöstlichen Spitsbergen innerhalb von sechs Wochen überqueren, unter einem 1.500m hohen Berg aus. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
In gemischtem Gelände kahler Böden und schneefreier Gletscher sind Geländewagen beliebt. Hier hat eine Forschungsgruppe ihre Allradfahrzeuge in einem Camp am Hamilton Point auf James Ross Island geparkt. Im Hintergrund sind durch den Schnee verschleierte Eisberge des Admiralty Sound zu sehen. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Um schwere Ausrüstung und eine große Anzahl von Menschen in der Antarktis zu transportieren, werden häufig Traktorzüge benutzt. Hier sehen wir eine neuseeländische Gruppe auf dem Meereis vor dem Kliff des Barnes Glacier auf der Ross Insel. Dieses vielseitige Zugfahrzeug, ein Hagglund, schwimmt sogar, falls es durch das Meereis bricht
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Dieser Bus ist eines der besseren motorisierten Transportmittel. Er heißt ‘Ivan der Terrabus’ - wahrscheinlich nach einem russischen Zaren benannt. Er wird von Mitgliedern des antarktischen Programms der USA benutzt, um Passagiere zum Williams Field, der Startbahn des McMurdo Ice Shelf in der Nähe von Ross Island, zu bringen. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Für größere Projekte in der Antarktis, wie z.B. Eisbohrungen oder andere geologische Projekte, werden Unterkünfte der Größe eines kleinen Dorfes benötigt. Das antarkische Programm der USA verlässt sich auf ein LC-130 ‘Hercules’ Flugzeug mit Skiern, welches hier für ein geologische Projekt auf dem Shackleton Glacier im Transantarktischen Gebirge eingesetzt wurde. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Ein UH-1N ‘Huey’ Helikopter der Antarctic Development Squadron Six unterstützt Naturwissenschaftler auf kurzen Reisen in der Region des McMurdo Sound. Dieser Helikopter hilft bei der Überquerung des Taylor Glacier in den McMourdo Dry Valleys. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
In der Antarktis muss die Camping-Ausrüstung Winde von Orkan-Stärke aushalten können. Die pyramidenförmigen Zelte sind zwischen Steinen, Schnee und Ausrüstung verankert. Im Hintergrund sieht man einen ‘Squirrel’-Helikopter, der auf ein Lager auf dem Shackleton Glacier zufliegt, um einer geologischen Feldgruppe neue Vorräte zu bringen. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Eisbrecher sind die einzigen Schiffe, die sicher durch Gewässer mit Eisbergen fahren können; dennoch können die unter Wasser liegenden Teile Eisbergen sehr gefährlich sein. Hier macht der Royal Navy Eisbrecher ‘HMS Endurance’ hydrographische Untersuchungen in der Region zwischen James Ross Island und Snow Hill Island der Antarktischen Halbinsel, wobei er nah an Eisberge heran kommt.
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Ein heißes Bad ist ein ungewöhnlicher Luxus für eine Gruppe von Glaziologen, die schon mehrere Wochen Feldarbeit hinter sich haben. Hier wurde ein Heißwasserbohrsystem, welches normalerweise zur Messung der Verformung des Eises dient, umfunktioniert. (Foto David Vaughan).
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Geologen kampieren im Nährgebiet des Auslassgletschers Wilsonbreen in Nordost-Spitzbergen; Backlundtoppen (1081m) im Hintergrund. Die Zelte wurden abgesichert, indem Schnee an den Seiten aufgehäuft wurde. Das Fahrzeug links im Bild ist ein ‘Argocat’, ein Geländefahrzeug mit Kuven. Die Gruppe musste sich während sechs Wochen selbst versorgen. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Umfangreiche Projekte in der Antarktis weitab vom Basislager erfordern eine umfassende logistische Unterstützung. Amerikanische Unternehmen sind oft sehr groß, so wie diese geologische Expedition auf dem Shackleton Glacier im zentralen Transantartischen Gebirge. Das Camp wurde mit einem Hercules-Flugzeug mit Skiern, zwei ‘Squirrel’ Helikoptern und einem Twin Otter beliefert. MH
Leben und Reisen auf Gletschern
Für feste Stationen auf dem antarktischen Inlandeis wurden verschiedene Strategien entwickelt, um mit dem Schnee und den Schneewehungen klar zu kommen; das Einfachste ist, Gebäudewände zu verstärken und den Schnee anhäufen zu lassen, so wie die deutsche Georg von Neumayer Station auf dem Ekstroem Eisschelf. Unter Tage zu Leben ist allerdings nicht die schönste Seite des Lebens in der Antarktis. MH
   
Fotos: Michael Hambrey (MH), Jürg Alean (JA)