Glaciers of the World

Earth’s glacial record

Many people are aware that the Earth was repeatedly affected by ice ages over the last two million years, when ice sheets extended from the polar regions to cover ground now occupied by such major cities as Chicago, New York, Edinburgh, Birmingham, Berlin, Oslo, Stockholm and Moscow. This section illustrates the evidence we use to determine the extent of past glaciation. However, this is only a part of the story, as major ice ages occurred in the earlier geological past, as far back as 3000 million years ago. Indeed, there is a belief in some quarters that the world was almost totally covered by ice six or seven hundred million years ago - the age of the «Snowball Earth». The evidence for these earlier glaciations in the rock record is also explored.

Earth’s glacial record
The legacy of glaciation in regions that lost their glaciers after the last glaciation 12,000 years ago, are some of the world’s finest landscapes. Crummock Water, with the Central Fells of the Lake District beyond is one of the classic glaciated areas in Britain, and one appreciated by many visitors. MH
Earth’s glacial record
There are several lines of evidence for glaciation in ancient rocks. One of the most useful is the presence of rocks mixed with particles ranging from clay to boulder size. This example is at Tillit Nunatak in East Greenland, and is of Late Proterozoic age (about 650 m.y.old). Tillit is Danish for ‘tillite’ the name give to rocks of glacial origin. MH
Earth’s glacial record
Glacial erosional landforms, such as these roches moutonnées in the Sahara desert, Mauritania, are rarely preserved in the geological record, but where found they are excellent indicators of former ice-flow directions, in this case from from left to right. These are exhumed examples dating back to Late Proterozoic time. MH
Earth’s glacial record
Rocks of glacial origin (tillites), if they have not been tectonically deformed, sometimes weather in such a way that the stones can be removed easily. If the stones have been glacially transported, as this example from Late Proterozoic strata in Mauritania, they may retain striations, indicating abrasion as they were transported on the underside of a sliding glacier. MH
Earth’s glacial record
Evidence of glaciation from 2000-2500 million years ago is shown by this ‘tillite’ – a mixture of coarse and fine fragments in a very hard rock, Whitefish Falls, Ontario, Canada. MH
Earth’s glacial record
One of the advantages of examining old rocks of glacial origin is that they are commonly well exposed. On Ella Ø in central East Greenland, folding of the Late Proterozoic glacial rocks has tilted them up on end, so one can follow a stream course and work progressively up or down through several hundred metres of glacial strata. These rocks bear many of the hallmarks that have led to the generation of the ‘Snowball Earth’ hypothesis of global glaciation. MH
Earth’s glacial record
China has abundant evidence of Late Proterozoic glaciations, spanning at leats three time intervals. Not only are there are extensive tillites, but there are grooved and striated pavements underlying them, as here in Henan Province. MH
Earth’s glacial record
Dropstone structures are among the most telling indicators of former glaciation, in this case Late Proterozoic glaciation in Namibia. Dropstones are formed when icebergs release debris into laminated sediments of the sea or lake floor. These dropstones near Narachaamspos in the Kaokoveld have been used to promote the ‘Snowball Earth’ hypothesis as a global refrigeration event, while the overlying pink and orange carbonate rocks are indicative of the succeeding hot phase. MH
Earth’s glacial record
Among the best-preserved striated and grooved pavements in the world are those of Permo-Carboniferous age (around 290 m.y. ago) in South Africa. Although long-buried by younger sedimentary strata, in places, such as near Douglas in the Great Karoo region, the pavements are being exhumed, preserving features that are as fresh as the day they were formed. MH
Earth’s glacial record
Evidence of another glaciation in the Kaokoveld, a hot desert area of northern Namibia. Here, a Permian-Carboniferous landscape has been preserved for most of its life by younger sediments. These have now been exhumed, revealing classic glacial landforms such as this glacial trough at Omutirapo. MH
Earth’s glacial record
The long-term glacial record, spanning some 35 million years, has been obtained by drilling in the deep ocean from research vessels, or on the continental shelf by rigs designed for drilling on land, but placed on the winter sea ice. Here the seven-nation Cape Roberts Project is drilling into the sea ice from sea ice in the western Ross Sea. Over a kilometre of core was obtained over three seasons. (Photo Peter Barrett).
Earth’s glacial record
The desire to know when Cenozoic glaciation began has stimulated extensive offshore drilling in Antartica. The recovery of core has illustrated the longevity of Antarctic glaciation (35 m.y. old.), but a gradual transition from temperate to cold polar glaciation has taken place over this period, as manifested in the style of sedimentation and fossil remains. The number at top left indicates the depth below the sea floor from which the sample was obtained. MH
Earth’s glacial record
The most recent drilling programme was named the Cape Roberts Project and was a multi-million dollar operation, involving 55 scientists, that provides a series of snapshots of how the Antarctic Ice Sheet has developed since its initiation, 35 m.y. ago. Scientists are here examining the core for the first time in the laboratory at McMurdo Station. MH
Earth’s glacial record
There is evidence in Antarctica of a much warmer ice sheet than the present day, coming in the form of glacial sediments known as the Sirius Group or, as here, a striated and grooved immediately beneath. This example is from Roberts Massif, Shackleton Glacier. MH
Earth’s glacial record
Evidence for glaciation just a few million years ago in Antarctica is preserved in these laminated deposits of the Sirius Group, Bennett Platform, Shackleton Glacier, Transantarctic Mountains. The laminated sediments contain large stones (dropstones) rafted by icebergs into a lake. MH
Earth’s glacial record
Glen Roy in the Grampian Highlands of Scotland is a famous nature reserve where the extent of past glaciation was noted in the late 19th century. Particularly significant are the three stripes across the hillsides, known as the Parallel Roads, that are notches cut by waves in a large ice-dammed lake, dating from around 12,000 years ago. MH
Earth’s glacial record
The last full-scale glaciation in Britain transported large amounts of material southwards. The Isle of Arran in SW Scotland had its own centre of ice dispersal, producing these whitish granite erratics. MH
Earth’s glacial record
The last glaciation in the United States saw the erosion of many fine glacial troughs, such as the Yosemite Valley in California. The over-steepened valley sides include El Capitan on the left. MH
Earth’s glacial record
Striking evidence of ice-sheet-scale glaciation can be found in Central Park, New York, where the exposed bedrock surfaces carry striations formed at the bed of a sliding ice mass. JA
 
Photos: Michael Hambrey (MH), Jürg Alean (JA)

Gletscher der Welt

Spuren der Eiszeit

Es ist allgemein bekannt, dass die Erde in den letzten zwei Millionen Jahren von mehreren Eiszeitaltern beeinflusst wurde; das Inlandeis erstreckte sich von den Polargebieten bis nach Chicago, New York, Edinburgh, Birmingham, Berlin, Oslo, Stockholm und Moskau. In diesem Abschnitt zeigen wir die Hinweise, die wir benutzen, um das Ausmaß der lezten Eiszeit zu bestimmen. Allerdings ist dies nur ein Teil der ganzen Geschichte, weil es bedeutende Eiszeitalter schon viel früher in der Erdgeschichte gab - sogar schon vor 3.000 Millionen Jahren. Tatsächlich sind manche Wissenschaftler davon überzeugt, dass die Erde vor sechs oder sieben Millionen Jahren – während des „Snowball Earth“-Zeitalters - fast ganz mit Eis bedeckt war. Hinweise auf diese früheren Eiszeiten in Gesteinen werden hier auch dargestellt.

Spuren der Eiszeit
Das Erbe der letzten Eiszeit, in Regionen, die ihre Gletscher nach der letzten Kaltzeit vor 12.000 Jahren verloren haben, bildet heute einigen der schönsten Landschaften dieser Erde. Crummock Water mit dem Central Fells des Lake District Nationalparks im Hintergrund ist eine der klassischen glazial-geprägten Gebiete Großbritaniens, welches sehr von seinen Besuchern geschätzt wird. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
In alten Gesteinen kann man einige Anzeichen für vergangene Eiszeiten finden. Eines der Nützlichsten ist das Vorkommen eines Sedimentgemisches mit Partikeln aller Korngrössen - von Ton bis zu Gesteinsblöcken. Das Beispiel hier ist von Tillit Nunatak in Ostgrönland und stammt aus dem späten Proterozoikum (ca. 650 Millionen Jahre alt). „Tillit“ kommt aus dem Dänischen und bezeichnet Gesteine, die einen glazialen Ursprung haben. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Glazialerosionale Landformen so wie diese Rundhöcker (franz. Roches moutonnées) in der Sahara Wüste, Mauretanien, sind selten, aber dort wo sie vorkommen, bilden sie ideale Anzeichen für ehemalige Eisströmungsrichtungen - in diesem Falle von links nach rechts. Dies hier sind frei gelegte Beispiele, die ins späte Proterozoikum zurückdatieren. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Gesteine glazialen Ursprungs (Tillite), die nicht tektonisch verformt wurden, verwittern manchmal so sehr, dass einzelne Steine leicht herausgenommen werden können. Wenn sie von Gletschern transportiert wurden, wie zum Beispiel dieser aus dem späten Proterozoikum in Mauretanien, können sie Gletscherschrammen aufweisen. Dies deutet auf Abschürfung während der Mitführung an der Unterseite des gleitenden Gletschers hin. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Dieser „Tillit“ weist auf eine Eiszeit vor 2.000-2.500 Millionen Jahren hin. Er ist hart und besteht aus einer Mischung von feinen und groben Fragmenten. Whitefish Falls, Ontario, Canada. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Einer der Vorteile bei der Untersuchung von alten Gesteinen glazialen Ursprungs ist, dass die Gesteine normalerweise freiliegen. In Ella Ø, im zentralen Ostgrönland, hat die Faltung der Gesteine des späten Proterozoikums das Material so geneigt, dass man einem Wasserlauf folgen und sich dabei durch mehrere hundert Meter glazialer Ablagerungen durcharbeiten kann. Hier finden sich Anzeichen für die „Snowball Earth“-Hypothese der globalen Vereisung. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
In China kann man reichliche Beweise für Eiszeiten des späten Proterozoikums finden, die mindestens drei geologische Perioden umfassen. Es gibt nicht nur viele Tillites, sondern auch Gesteinsflächen mit Gletscherschrammen (Kritzungen), wie hier in der Henan Provinz. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
„Dropstones“ sind gute Anzeichen für eine frühere Eiszeit, in diesem Fall für eine in Namibia. Dropstones entstehen, wenn Eisberge das mitgeführte Material fallen lassen dieses dann in den laminierten Sedimeten des Meeres- oder Seegrundes eingelagert wird. Diese Dropstones in der Nähe von Narachaamspos in Kaokoveld dienen als Indizien für die „Snowball Earth“-Hypothese, welche eine drastische globale Abkühlung umschreibt, wobei die überlagernden rosaroten und orangen Karbonate Anzeichen für die nachfolgende heiße Zeit sind. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Einige der am besten erhaltenen Gesteinsflächen mit Gletscherschrammen sind die des Perm und Karbon (ca. 290 Millionen Jahre vor heute) in Südafrika. Obwohl sie an Orten wie z.B. in der Nähe von Douglas in der Großen Karoo Region lange von jüngeren sedimentären Gesteinen begraben waren, liegen sie heute frei und wirken völlig frisch. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Anzeichen für eine weitere Eiszeit im Kaokoveld, einer heißen Wüstenregion in Nord-Namibia. Hier wurde eine Landschaft des Perms und Karbons erhalten. Diese wird nun abgetragen und enthüllt klassische glaziale Landschaftsformen so wie dieses Trogtal (U-förmiges Tal), in Omutirapo. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Die langfristige Aufzeichnung von Eiszeiten (ca. 35 Millionen Jahre umfassend), wurde durch Tiefseebohrungen oder von Bohrungen auf dem Kontinentalschelf gewonnen. Hier sind sieben Nationen am Cape Roberts Projekt im westlichen Rossmeer (Antarktis) beteiligt. Mehr als ein Kilometer Bohrkern wurde innerhalb von drei Feldkampagnen gewonnen (Foto: Peter Barrett)
Spuren der Eiszeit
Der hier gewonnene Bohrkern illustriert die Langlebigkeit der Antarktischen Eisbedeckung (35 Millionen Jahre), allerdings fand ein sanfter Übergang von temperierten zu kalten Eiszeiten über diese Zeitspanne statt, wie Sedimentations- und Fossilienüberresten zeigen. Die Nummer oben rechts im Bild zeigt die Tiefe unter dem Meeresboden von wo die Probe genommen wurde. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Das letzte Bohrprojekt war das Cape Roberts Projekt. Es lieferte eine Serie von „Momentaufnahmen“, die zeigen wie sich der Antarktische Eisschild seit seiner Entstehung vor 35 Millionen Jahren entwickelt hat. Forscher untersuchen hier den Bohrkern zum ersten Mal im Labor der McMurdo Station. MHH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Es gibt in der Antarktis Anzeichen dafür, dass der Eisschild früher sehr viel wärmer als heute war. Glaziale Sedimente, die bekannt sind als die Sirus Gruppe oder - so wie hier im Bild - Gletscherschrammen direkt unter dem heutigen Eisschild, weisen darauf hin. Dieses Beispiel kommt aus dem Roberts Gebirgsmassiv, Shackleton Gletscher. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Hinweise auf eine Eiszeit vor nur ein paar Millionen Jahren geben die laminierten Ablagerungen der Sirius Gruppe, Bennett Plattform, Shackleton Gletscher, im Transantarktischem Gebirge. Die laminierten Sedimente beinhalten große Steine (Dropstones), die von einem Eisberg in einen See geflößt wurden. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Glen Roy im Grampian Hochland Schottlands ist ein berühmtes Naturschutzgebiet, in dem das Ausmaß der letzten Eiszeit im späten 19. Jahrhundert erkannt wurde. Besonders bedeutend sind die drei Streifen am Berghang, bekannt als die „Parallel Roads“. Es sind Küstenlinien, die von Wellen in einem großen eisgestauten See von vor 12.000 Jahren herrühren. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Während der letzten großen Eiszeit in Großbritannien wurden riesige Mengen von Material nach Süden transportiert. Von der Insel Arran in Südwestschottland stammen diese hellen Findlinge aus Granit. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Die letzte Eiszeit in den USA sorgte dafür, dass viele Trogtäler (U-förmige Täler), so wie das Yosemite Tal in Kalifornien, erodiert wurden. Links im Bild die Felswand des El Capitan. MH
Spuren der Eiszeit
Hervorragende Anzeichen für eine Eiszeit können im Central Park New Yorks gefunden werden, wie diese Gletscherschrammen, die unter einer gleitenden Eismasse entstanden. JA
 
Fotos: Michael Hambrey (MH), Jürg Alean (JA)