Succession of vegetation in the glacier forefield

Comparing photos from (top) and 2002 (bottom) shows the growth of larches (Larix decidua) and swiss stone pines (Pinus cembra), as well as in some photos, willows (Salix sp.) and alders (Alnus viridis).

Succession of vegetation in the glacier forefield
Frontal position of 1900
The tall larch in the foreground has not only grown in height, but also become much wider!
Succession of vegetation in the glacier forefield
Frontal position of 1920
17 years in the life of a pine (left of path) and larches (right)!
Succession of vegetation in the glacier forefield
Frontal position of 1940
A «moraine landscape with larches» transforms into «an open larch forest with some moraine».
Succession of vegetation in the glacier forefield
Frontal position of 1950
Due to growth of larches the glacier tongue becomes invisible from this location.
Succession of vegetation in the glacier forefield
Frontal position of 1960
The tallest bushes here are mountain willow.
Succession of vegetation in the glacier forefield
Frontal position of 1970
Note the massive shrinking of the glacier tongue!
Succession of vegetation in the glacier forefield
Maximum tree highest in front of the glacier
At the respective frontal positions (years mean that the glacier then left this position) of previous years the height of the tallest larches (Larix decidua) and swiss stone pines (Pinus cembra) was estimated. Several estimations were averaged and used to draw the diagram on the left. This clearly shows: Pines take much longer to establish themselves on the nee, ice-free ground. They require approximately 40 years to properly establish themselves. In contrast larchescan be found on terrain which has emerged only 10 years ago from the ice. However, after 100 years both kinds of trees reach similar heights.
Succession of vegetation in the glacier forefield
Ground covered by vegetation
The percentage of ground covered by vegetation was estimated, again averaging several observations at each location. Locations with large boulders (>0.4m) were avoided. After one century (frontal position of the glacier in 1900) 85% is reached. Even outside the moraines from the Little Ice Age (before 1850) it is not much higher. As expected the values decrease as one gets nearer to the glacier, but remarkably pioneer plants can be found even in terrain which has been ice free for two years only.
Succession of vegetation in the glacier forefield
Morteratsch and Mount St. Helens
The idea to document vegetation changes in front of Vadret da Morteratsch was born, not near a glacier, but at Mount St. Helens volcano. Its eruption in 1980 destroyed large areas of forest. In 1988 J. Alean documented the starting re-colonization of the terrain by plants, and in 2001 the photos were repeated. The material is on STROMBOLI ON-LINE in the section on Mt. St. Helens in the chapter «Life returns». The treeline is considerably lower at Mount St. Helens (1500m.a.s.l. vs. 2200m at Vadret da Morteratsch). See also the virtual climb of Mount St. Helens.
Image quality: Photos from 1985 were exposed on inferior film. Therefore, intensive processing had to be applied in order to show detail in the vegetation. This led to somewhat strange colours but has the advantage of clearly showing detail in the image foreground.

Vegetationsentwicklung im Gletschervorfeld

Der Vergleich der Aufnahmen von 1985 (jeweils oben) und 2002 (jeweils unten) zeigt insbesondere das Wachstum der Lärchen (Larix decidua) und Arven (Pinus cembra), zum Teil auch von Weiden (Salix sp.) und Grünerlen (Alnus viridis).

Vegetationsentwicklung im Gletschervorfeld
Gletscherstand 1900
Die grosse Lärche im Vordergrund ist nicht nur in die Höhe, sondern auch in die Breite gewachen!
Vegetationsentwicklung im Gletschervorfeld
Gletscherstand 1920
17 Jahre im Leben einer Arve (links von der Strasse) und Lärchen (rechts)!
Vegetationsentwicklung im Gletschervorfeld
Gletscherstand 1940
Wandel einer «Moränenlandschaft mit Lärchen» zu einem «offenen Lärchenwald mit Felsblöcken».
Vegetationsentwicklung im Gletschervorfeld
Gletscherstand 1950
Der Gletscher wird wegen Schwund und dem Wachstum der Lärchen unsichtbar.
Vegetationsentwicklung im Gletschervorfeld
Gletscherstand 1960
Die höchsten Büsche im Vordergrund sind Bergweiden.
Vegetationsentwicklung im Gletschervorfeld
Gletscherstand 1970
Beachte den massiven Schwund der Gletscherzunge!
Vegetationsentwicklung im Gletschervorfeld
Bei den jeweiligen Gletscherständen wurden die Höhen der grössten Lärchen und Arven (Pinus cembra) abgeschätzt. Mehrere Schätzungen wurden gemittelt und im Diagramm links dargestellt. Daraus ergibt sich: Die Arve hat viel länger als die Lärche, um sich in neuem Gelände zu etablieren. Sie braucht gegen 40 Jahre, um sich anzusiedeln. Demgegenüber tritt die Lärche bereits auf Flächen auf, die seit nur etwa 10 Jahre eisfrei sind. Nach etwa 100 Jahren erreichen die beiden Baumarten die gleiche Höhe.
Vegetationsentwicklung im Gletschervorfeld
Es wurde auch der Grad der Bodenbedeckung durch die Vegetation geschätzt, wobei wiederum mehrere Werte gemittelt wurden. Stellen mit grossen Felsblöcken (>0.4m) wurden gemieden. Die Bodenbedeckung erreicht nach einem Jahrhundert (Gletscherstand von 1900) 85%. Sie ist auch im Bereich ausserhalb der Moränen der Kleinen Eiszeit (<1900) nicht wesentlich höher. Erwartungsgemäss sinkt der Bedeckungsgrad in Gletschernähe, doch gibt es selbst im Gelände, das erst seit zwei Jahren eisfrei ist, erstaunlich viele Pionierpflanzen.
Vegetationsentwicklung im Gletschervorfeld
Morteratsch und Vulkan Mount St. Helens
Die Idee, die Entwicklung der Vegetation im Gletschervorfeld zu dokumentieren entstand am Vulkan Mount St. Helens, USA. Bei dessen Ausbruch von 1980 wurden grosse Waldflächen vernichtet. 1988 fotografierte J. Alean den Stand der beginnenden Wiederbesiedlung durch die Vegetation. 2001 wurden die Aufnahmen wiederholt. Vergleiche auf STROMBOLI ON-LINE, Abschnitt Mt. St. Helens, Kapitel «Neues Leben». Die Baumgrenze ist am Mount St. Helens auf etwa 1500m.ü.M also tiefer im Engadin.
Bildqualität: Die Aufnahmen von 1985 sind auf schlechteres Filmmaterial belichtet und mussten deshalb stark bearbeitet werden, um den Bildvordergrund besser sichtbar zu machen. Das eregibt etwas unnatürliche Farben. Dies wurde zugunsten einer best möglichen Sichtbarkeit der Pflanzen in den alten Bildern in Kauf genommen.